Agenda and minutes

Annual Council, Council - Wednesday 6 May 2020 11.00 am

Venue: Being held virtually by Microsoft Teams. The public can listen to a live stream here:

Contact: Emma Horbury - 01264 368001  Email:

Link: The public can listen to a live stream here

No. Item




Prayers were led by Chief Executive Roger Tetstall.




The apologies of Councillors Daas, Linda Lashbrook and Phil Lashbrook were noted.


Appointment of Mayor and Deputy Mayor pdf icon PDF 126 KB

To appoint a Mayor and Deputy Mayor.


Councillor Phil North proposed and Councillor Celia Dowden seconded, that due to the current circumstances resulting from the Coronavirus pandemic, Councillor Hatley be appointed as Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year and until the appointment of his successor and that Councillor Cooper be appointed as Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year and until the appointment of his successor, in order to allow both the incumbent and future Mayor to each have a full and effective Mayoral term.




1.  That Councillor Hatley be appointed as Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year and until the appointment of his successor.


2.  That Councillor Cooper be appointed as Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing year and until the appointment of his successor.


The Worshipful the Mayor gave thanks for his election and confirmed that his chosen charities would remain the same and that Reverend Canon Jill Bentall and Reverend Thomas Wharton would continue to be his chaplains for the coming year.


Leader's Annual Council Speech

The Leader will give his annual speech.


Councillor North gave his annual Leader’s speech which reflected on the work of the Council being undertaken in response to the Coronavirus pandemic and highlighted projects the Council would continue to take forward.


Local Government and Housing Act 1989 Committees - Voting Rights and Political Balance pdf icon PDF 215 KB

To allocate seats to a political group that wishes to be treated as a political group for the purposes of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.


Councillor Phil North introduced the item by setting out that for the purposes of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 and the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, a political group called The Andover Independents comprising Cllrs Coole, Ecclestone and Meyer were registered.


A group having been registered, the Council had to determine the allocation of seats on the committees of the Council to that political group. It was noted that the seats allocated to a political group should bear the same proportion to that group’s share of the total Council elected membership.


That for the purposes of Part 1 of the Local Government and Housing Act, 1989 the allocation of seats on the Standing Committees of the Council be as follows:



Andover Independents Group

General Purposes




Overview and Scrutiny Committee


Northern Area Planning Committee


Southern Area Planning Committee




Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies and dates and times of meetings of the Council pdf icon PDF 115 KB

To appoint the membership of the Committees of the Council, representatives to Outside Bodies and to approve the dates and times of the ordinary meetings of the Council year for the Civic Year 2020/21.




That appointments be made to the following positions:


1.  Committees

a)  Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18)

Councillors Bailey, Baverstock, Borg-Neal, Brooks, Burley, Coole, C Dowden, Finlay, Gwynne, Hamilton, Harber, Lodge, Matthews, K North, Parker, Rowles, Ward and Warnes.

b)  Northern Area Planning Committee (13)


Councillor Borg-Neal (Chairman), Councillor Burley (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Andersen, Brooks, Coole, Donnelley, Ecclestone, Harber, L Lashbrook, P Lashbrook, Lodge, Matthews and Watts.

c)  Southern Area Planning Committee (13)

Councillor Cooper (Chairman), Councillor Finlay (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Bailey, Bundy, Burnage, A Dowden, C Dowden, Gwynne, Hatley, Parker, Thom, Ward and Warnes.

d)  General Purposes Committee (11)


Councillor Hamilton (Chairman), Councillor K North (Vice Chairman) and Councillors Adams-King, Baverstock, Cooper, Cross, A Dowden, Flood, Jeffrey, Meyer and P North.

e)  Licensing Committee (15)


Councillor Bailey (Chairman), Councillor Matthews (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Andersen, Burley, Burnage, Daas, Donnelley, A Dowden, Drew, Johnston, L Lashbrook, P Lashbrook, Meyer, Parker and Rowles.


2.  To select representatives to sit on various Committees and Outside Bodies for a further period of one year or for the period specified:-


a)  Local Organisations and Charities


Andover Charities Trustees

Councillors Burley and Coole, and Mr M Lloyd

(Period of 4 years until May 2022)


Councillor Lodge, Mr J Budzynski and Mr Barlow

(Remainder of period of 4 years until May 2020)

Andover Crisis and Support Centre

Councillor Andersen


Andover Cruse Bereavement Care

Councillor Andersen


Andover Town Football Club Board

Mr I Carr


Crimestoppers Hampshire

Councillor Burley


Enham Trust

The Mayor (Ex officio)


John Hanson Foundation Trust

Councillors Brooks, Ecclestone and Watts


Michelmersh Silver Band

The Mayor (Ex officio)


Miss Gale’s Educational Foundation

Councillor Matthews


North Wessex Downs AONB Management Committee

Councillor P North


Romsey Agricultural and Horse Show 

The Mayor (Ex officio)


Sambourne Foundation Trustee

Councillor P North


Test Valley Arts Foundation

Councillor Brooks


Test Valley Brass Band

The Mayor (Ex officio)


Test Valley Citizens Advice Bureau Management Committee

Councillor Hamilton


Tourism South East

Councillor Drew



Councillor Hamilton


b)  Local Authority Co-operation


Central Hampshire Road Safety Council

Councillor Donnelly and P Lashbrook


Hampshire & Isle of Wight Local Government Association

The Chief Executive together with Councillors P North and Flood


Hampshire Police and Crime Panel

Councillor P Lashbrook


Local Democracy and Accountability Network

Councillor Tasker


Local Government Association General Assembly

Councillor P North


New Forest Consultative Panel

Councillor Bailey


New Forest National Park Authority

Councillor Bailey


Project Integra Management Board

(1)  Councillor P North

(2)  Deputy: Councillor Flood


PUSH (Partnership for Urban South Hampshire) Joint Overview and Scrutiny

(1)  Councillor Bundy

(2)  Deputy: Councillor Bailey


Southampton International Airport Consultative Committee

(1) Councillor Hatley

(2) Deputy: Councillor A Dowden

(Period of 3 years until May 2021)


South East Employers

Councillor Flood


c)  Liaison Panels


Yokesford Liaison Panel (Ampfield & Braishfield Ward)

Councillor Hatley


Roke Manor Liaison Panel (Blackwater Ward)

Councillor Adams-King


Lee Lane Liaison Panel (Chilworth Nursling & Rownhams Ward)

Councillor Bundy and one vacancy


A303 Facility at Longparish Liaison Panel

Councillor Drew


3.  Dates and Times of Meetings of the Council






10  ...  view the full minutes text for item 6.


Appointment of Chairman to Overview and Scrutiny Committee pdf icon PDF 117 KB

To appoint the Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee.


Councillor Drew moved:


“That Councillor Brooks be appointed as the Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee.”


Councillor Matthews seconded the motion.




That Council appoint Councillor Brooks as the Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee.


Scheme of Delegations pdf icon PDF 118 KB

To approve the Council’s Scheme of Delegations as amended and to incorporate it into the Council’s Constitution.

Additional documents:




1.  That the Scheme of Delegations as set out in the Annex to the report in so far as it applies to Council be approved.


2.  That the Scheme set out in the Annex to the report be incorporated into the Constitution.